Maggie

Free Tones/Rhythms Available for Casio WK-3800 by Download!

In casio wk-3800, ccm, keyboarding, praise band, synthesizer, worship on August 21, 2008 at 4:31 pm

WW

Wow.  Looks like there are a lot of downloads available.  I will try and see if I can accomplish it.  I’m interested to know how easy it is to find these…if they group them with like sounds in the listing, or if I have to remember the numbers or what?

I have a MIDI cable, and installing the CD wasn’t too hard.  I just inserted the disk.  Clicked “run” from my start menu, typed E:/, and then it opened.  I selected US and English, and then read the “readme” file first as suggested in the hardcopy user manual.  It directed me to a file called ides40, and when I clicked that, it autoinstalled.  This is the driver which will allow the computer to connect with and download from the internet by MIDI cable.

I have to say, this is an excellent manual.  It is similar in style to the Roland manual we use at the church.  Very clear and easy to follow, though not nearly as complex as that one (thank goodness).  I can’t remember the name of the Roland I use there…XP something or other workstation.  I’ll have to look that up later for those curious as to what I use.

Anyhoo, on to the next step:  seeing if I can download these.  The hardest part will be moving my keyboard close to the computer, but I think it can be done.  I’d be tempted to find a way to set it up here permanently, but it’s right in my kitchen.  I often go play and practice while I’m waiting for the computer to do it’s thing, uploading pics, or whatever.

Here are the list of sounds.  I like seeing “pan flute”…the recorder sound rocks in my opinion.  I hope it’s good.  Also more horn options…those are a little shaky, especially trumpets, which are just hard to duplicate.  But, they do a great job at times mixing them in the rhythm section where they sound good.  I haven’t looked for a good harmonica to see if it’s on board yet, but I’ll need one for “Happy Song” intro!

Do you all know where there is a good place to download other sounds?  Does it have to be Casio WK-3800 site, or can you use other generic files?  Good questions.  If you don’t answer, I’ll find the answer!

I think Casio should put up demos of these sounds so you’d know the ones you’d use before downloading them all.  Just my preference.  For example, the clavichord would have to really wow me.  I’m not sure what one uses a clavichord sound for.  Note:  there is a demo of what you can do with MIDI…several files.

http://www.casio-europe.com/euro/emi/cms/ It initially asks you where you want to save the files, but ignore that screen and a quicktime player will come up where you can listen.

It initially asks

Okay, so I created a Casio account, got my validation email, and went to download tones.  I always create a restore point on my computer when installing a lot of new drivers and downloading new files.  So, I did that.  (Check your computer documentation for how to do that).

One thing I noticed is that this program is not compatible with MACs. They are going to have to work on that with so many worship “people” converting to MACs today.  I mean, like…all of them.  Except me, I don’t have that kind of spare change or have not been able to justify the expense at this time.

So…I have the files on my computer.  Now, I have to figure out what to do with them.  IMHO, www.music.casio.com should add linkeage on that page with “how to get these sounds to your computer with a link to each keepboard they work on…

I re-read the manual and did not find specifics.  Next, looking for a FAQ on that site.

Oh!  One more thing…in my opinion, it is much easier to download this stuff in batches–an option they offer.  You could go in and delete sounds you don’t like more easily from the extracted zip file than you could pick through and get the sounds you want…especially since you can’t test them before downloading anyway. Scan through the lists first before you start downloading…there is a drum track list by genre called “Package” to save you time downloading…it’s at the very bottom of the list.

UPDATE on Rhythms:  Be sure to check the rhythm section as well…there is a TON of stuff there you won’t want to miss not included in the “Package” link, though it says it includes “all the above”…it doesn’t!  ;)

WISH LIST:  I’m not seeing a lot of just standard 4 beat and 16 beat variations.  That is what I’m needing most for worship songs…and some other 3/4 options.  They need to have someone who listens to “Passion”, “Chris Tomlin”, and other leading worshippers to come up with sounds that would work.  Also, I think the into and exits need to be as generic as possible.  To have a “dim” song and a “big” intro or finish doesn’t really work.  Would be great to just have some fading-out or ending chord/drum sequence stuff going on that doesn’t stick out with whatever you are playing…it would just blend.

I am a bit confused by the website.  They say to read something to see if you’ve met the system requirements and the title includes WK-3800, but then it’s left out of the lists of keyboards that meet the requirements in the rest of the writing on that page.  That needs to be corrected.  I’m pretty sure I’m good because the manual mentioned a MIDI cable this keyboard…I’ll have to go check that out.  I think I saw IN/OUT on the back earlier.

USING THE FILES:  Here is where you find how to use the files you just downloaded (or might download).  It’s a bit hard to find, imho.  On your driver installation disk, go to the .pdf file with the _e extension for “English”.  You get a booklet that seems to have all the answers there as to what to do with these files.

Okay…so here is the tone list you can download:

Display Name

Tone Name

Maximum Polyphony

Range*1

Effect

60′s EP3

60′S E.PIANO 3

32

N

Enha Cho

7thSeq 2

7TH SEQ 2

16

N

Pha Cho2

AcoBass3

ACOUSTIC BASS 3

32

-1

EnhaDly

Acrdion2

ACCORDION 2

16

N

Enha Cho

AtkSqr 3

ATTACK SQR 3

16

N

Dist Dly2

AWahDist

AUTO WAH DIST. GUITAR

16

-1

AWhDsDly

BariSax2

BARITONE SAX 2

32

-1

Enhancer

BariSax3

BARITONE SAX 3

32

-1

Enha Dly

BassLd 5

BASS LEAD 5

16

N

Comp 2

BritePf2

BRIGHT PIANO 2

32

N

Reflect

BriteTrp

BRIGHT TRUMPET

32

N

CmpEnDly

BrtyASx2

BREATHY ALTO SAX 2

16

-1

Reflect

BrtyTSx2

BREATHY TENOR SAX 2

16

-1

Reflect

BrtyTSx3

BREATHY TENOR SAX 3

16

-1

Enha Flan

Cello 2

CELLO 2

32

-1

Equalize

Chapel 2

CHAPEL ORGAN 2

32

N

GateRvb1

ChoStGt2

CHORUS GUITAR(STEEL) 2

32

-1

Enha Cho

Clavi 2

CLAVI 2

32

N

Enhancer

CplHpsi2

COUPL HARPSICHORD 2

16

N

Equalize

CrnchGt3

CRUNCH ELEC. GUITAR 3

32

-1

CrnPhase

DepSyBr3

DEEP SYNTH-BRASS 3

16

N

CrnDelay

Dist.Gt3

DISTORTION GUITAR 3

16

-1

Crn Cho

DstCln 2

DISTORTION CLEAN GT 2

32

-1

CrnDelay

DtunSaw3

DETUNED SAW 3

16

N

Equalize

DtunSaw4

DETUNED SAW 4

16

N

Chorus 4

DtunSaw5

DETUNED SAW 5

16

N

Dist Dly1

Duck

DUCK

16

-1

StXDelay

E Piano3

ELECTRIC PIANO 3

32

N

Equalize

Feedbck2

FEEDBACK GUITAR 2

16

-1

AWhDsDly

FifthLd2

FIFTH LEAD 2

16

N

Auto Wah

FingBs 4

FINGER BASS 4

32

-1

Limiter

Flute 2

FLUTE 2

32

-1

Equalize

Flute 3

FLUTE 3

32

-1

Comp 2

Glocken3

GLOCKEN 3

32

1

Equalize

Goblin_2

GOBLIN 2

16

N

Cho Flan

GrLead 3

GR LEAD 3

32

N

StXDelay

Harp 2

HARP 2

32

N

Equalize

Harpsi.2

HARPSICHORD 2

32

N

Reflect

Harpsi.4

HARPSICHORD 4

32

N

Equalize

Jazz Trb

JAZZ TROMBONE

32

-1

Comp 2

JazzGt 2

JAZZ GUITAR 2

32

-1

Equalize

JazzGt 3

JAZZ GUITAR 3

32

-1

Reflect

JzAltSax

JAZZ ALTO SAX

32

-1

Enhance

JzDrwbr2

JAZZ DRAWBAR 2

32

N

Od Rot 1

Koto 2

KOTO 2

32

N

Auto Wah

MdernPf2

MODERN PIANO 2

16

N

Crn Cho

MEP+EGP2

MODERN EP+E.G.PIANO 2

16

N

Crn Cho

MlwFHrn2

MELLOW FRENCH HORN 2

16

N

Reflect

MlwNyln2

MELLOW NYLON GUITAR 2

16

-1

Enha Dly

NylonGt2

NYLON GUITAR 2

32

-1

Reflect

OdPhzGtr

OVERDRIVE PHASER GUITAR

16

-1

Od Phase

OldRecPf

OLD RECORDING PIANO

32

N

Lo-Fi

OrchHit3

ORCHESTRA HIT 3

16

N

LFO Wah

OrgnHit2

ORGAN HIT 2

16

N

Cho Flan

OvdRock2

OVERDRIVE ROCK ORGAN 2

16

N

Od Rot 2

PanFl 2

PAN FLUTE 2

16

N

Tremolo

PickBs 3

PICK BASS 3

32

-1

Enha Dly

PizzEns2

PIZZICATO ENSEMBLE 2

16

N

RvbHall2

PurSySt3

PURE SYNTH STRINGS 3

16

N

Enhancer

PurSySt4

PURE SYNTH STRINGS 4

16

N

Chorus 3

PwrSynBr

POWER SYNTH BRASS

16

-1

Reflect

ReedSaw2

REED SAW 2

16

N

LFO Wah

ReedSawX

REED SAW X

16

N

Auto Pan

ResoOboe

RESONANCE OBOE

32

N

Auto Wah

RtDrwbr2

ROTARY DRAWBAR 2

32

N

Od Rot 2

RtDrwbr3

ROTARY DRAWBAR 3

32

N

RotRef 1

RzClavi2

RESO. CLAVI 2

32

N

Auto Wah

RzShami

RESONANCE SHAMISEN

32

N

Auto Wah

RzSlapBs

RESO. SLAP BASS

32

-1

Auto Wah

Salon Pf

SALON PIANO

16

N

RevHall1

Saw+Sqr 2

SAW + SQR 2

16

N

MetalDly

SawLead2

SAW LEAD 2

16

N

Chorus 2

SawSyBs5

SAW SYNTH BASS 5

16

-1

Comp 2

SawSyBs6

SAW SYNTH BASS 6

16

-1

LFO Wah

SlapBs_3

SLAP BASS 3

32

-1

Enha Dly

SlowStr2

SLOW STRINGS 2

16

N

Enha Dly

SlowVc 2

SLOW CELLO 2

32

-1

CrnDelay

SqrLead4

SQR LEAD 4

16

N

Chorus 2

SqrWave4

SQR WAVE 4

32

N

3Tap Del

SqrWave5

SQR WAVE 5

32

N

Auto Wah

SqrWave6

SQR WAVE 6

32

+2

RgChoDly

SqrWave7

SQR WAVE 7

32

N

Delay

StarVoi3

STAR VOICE 3

16

N

PhaAPan1

StreStr2

STEREO STRINGS 2

16

N

RevHall1

SwpPad 2

SWEEP PAD 2

16

N

RingMod

Syn-Str3

SYNTH-STRINGS 3

16

N

Enha Cho

ThmbPno2

THUMB PIANO 2

32

N

Reflect

TnrSax 3

TENOR SAX 3

32

-1

Reflect

Trb_ff

TROMBONE FORTISSIMO

32

-1

RvbHall1

TremVib2

TREMOLO VIBRAPHONE 2

32

N

Cho.Trem

TrpForte

TRUMPET FORTE

32

N

RvbHall1

Trp_pp

TRUMPET PIANISSIMO

32

N

RvbHall1

T_Saxys2

TENOR SAXYS 2

16

-1

Enha Flan

Vibe 2

VIBRAPHONE 2

32

N

Equalize

Violin 2

VIOLIN 2

32

N

Reflect

VoiceDo2

VOICE DOO 2

32

N

PhaAPan2

VxSawLd2

VOX SAW LEAD 2

16

N

PhaDly 1

VxSawLd3

VOX SAW LEAD 3

16

N

PhaDly 2

VxSawLd4

VOX SAW LEAD 4

16

N

StPhaser

WarmVox2

WARM VOX 2

16

N

Reflect

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

