Maggie

The Manual Language for the MIDI Program?…A Bit Foggy to Me

In Uncategorized on August 21, 2008 at 9:17 pm

Alrighty.  I’m reading this software guide, and let me tell you, a brain cramp is to follow. I’m reading here:

file:///E:/English/data_manager/index.html

First off, the thing I want to know first…how to move sounds from Casio’s website to my piano keyboard, is the LAST thing on the page listing.

Then, there is information overload about the different types of media you can use to store information on.

I don’t know how much space I have to store these sounds on my keyboard’s hard-drive…so I don’t know if I need a flash drive or not.

Also, I don’t know much about using the type flash drives this keyboard takes…or why it seems so easy to over-write them…(and I quote from the site)

  • Note that restoring flash memory data always overwrites the existing data in Keyboard flash memory. If you do not want to lose the data you currently have in Keyboard flash memory, back it up to your computer’s hard disk before performing the restore operation.

This raises some questions:

  1. Why would a person want to “restore flash memory data”, from where would one “restore” it, and if it were lost and needing “restoring”, how would you first back it up to your computer’s hard disk before “performing the restore operation.

This was a poorly written section in my opinion.

As far as I can tell, it seems that what it SHOULD say is:

“Be sure to back up any work you want to save long-term to your computer hard-drive in case your flash drive fails and you find the need to “refresh” it with the version saved to your computer hard drive.  Just keep in mind that any changes you made to your flash drive since backing it up to your computer will be long.  As with any computer work…save often, and back up your saves.”

Leave a Reply

